//
you're reading...

12 Bean Bag

Beanbag – When to Use

Chapter 12. Use of Beanbag
Pg. 46

Situations for Use of the Bean Bag
Fumbles
The spot of the fumble must be
marked in the event a penalty occurs
and that spot is needed to determine
where the run ended. Technically,
the spot is required only for fumbles
beyond the neutral zone, but it is
permissible to bag all fumbles. Many
officials bag all fumbles out of habit.
Fumbles behind the neutral zone are
part of a loose-ball play and the basic
spot is the previous spot.
First Touching
During both free and scrimmage
kicks, there are times when it is
improper for Team K to touch a ball
that has been kicked. That is known
as “first touching” and it applies only
when Team K touches the ball when
it is not entitled to possession. On
free kicks, if Team K touches the ball
before the ball crosses Team R’s free
kick line and before it is touched there
by any Team R player, the spot must
be marked with the beanbag. For a
scrimmage kick, the spot must be
marked if Team K touches the ball in
the field of play beyond the line before
Team R touches it.
The spot must be marked because
Team R may have the right to take the
ball at that spot.
End of a Scrimmage Kick
If a scrimmage kick ends between
the goal lines, the covering official
must mark the yard line where the
receiver begins his return (also known
as the end of the kick) with a beanbag.
That is in case post-scrimmage kick
enforcement (PSK) is needed on a
foul. The Back Judge should use two
different-colored beanbags: one for
marking the end of a kick and the other
for marking first touching.
Momentum Exception
The momentum exception allows
a defender or kick receiver to make a
play without fear of giving up a safety.
When a defensive player intercepts an
opponent’s forward pass; intercepts
or recovers an opponent’s fumble or
backward pass; or a Team R player
catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or
free kick between his five yard line and
the goal line, and his original momentum
carries him into the end zone where
the ball is declared dead in his team’s
possession or it goes out of bounds in
the end zone, the ball belongs to the
team in possession at the spot where
the pass or fumble was intercepted or
recovered or the kick was caught or
recovered. The bean bagged spot might
also be used to enforce a penalty that
occurs after possession was obtained.
Quarterback Sacks
On quarterback sacks, the progress
spot is where the defensive player first
contacts the potential passer. Wing
officials are generally downfield and
cannot help with forward progress
behind the line. The Referee must keep
his attention on action on the passer.
Dropping the bean bag and then
moving to cover that action is an
acceptable procedure, but Referees
should be able to note and remember
the correct line without using the bag.
Inadvertent Whistles
When an official inadvertently blows
his whistle while the ball is in player
possession, causing the ball to become
dead, the covering official may drop his
beanbag at the spot of the ball when the
whistle was blown (it is no different than
most progress spots). The down may
be replayed or the team in possession
at the time the whistle was blown may
choose to accept the result of the play.

Archives